Go To Search
Click to Home


Posted on: August 17, 2018

Roanoke Valley-Alleghany Regional Commission (RVARC) Update to Existing Hazard Mitigation Plan

The Roanoke Valley-Alleghany Regional Commission (RVARC) is conducting a comprehensive update of the existing hazard mitigation plan to assure region-wide safety and adequate preparation for the protection of the life and property of the citizens of the region. The proposed revision and update will assure that the changes in hazards and vulnerabilities within the region are identified and addressed by appropriate mitigation strategies. The current plan will be updated by means of a comprehensive review, evaluation and revision of all plan sections including the planning process, capability assessment, Hazard Identification and Risk Assessment, vulnerability assessment, and the plan maintenance section. The previous version of the plan is available at: http://rvarc.org/community/hazard-mitigation/

The plan will cover the counties of Alleghany, Botetourt, Craig, and Roanoke; cities of Covington, Roanoke and Salem; and the towns of Buchanan, Clifton Forge, Fincastle, Iron Gate, New Castle, Troutville and Vinton. Other partners in the plan update include the Virginia Department of Emergency Management, FEMA, Virginia Department of Forestry, and National Weather Service.

According to Eddie Wells, Director of Community Development, "This survey is designed to help gauge household preparedness for natural disasters and knowledge of methods to reduce risk and loss from natural hazards such as flooding, wildfires and tornados. The information you provide will help improve public/private coordination of preparedness and risk reduction activities."

The survey can be taken online at: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/Q7G5ZMC
If you need additional accommodations to complete this survey, please contact Eddie Wells at ewells@rvarc.org or (540)-343-4417.

The Roanoke Valley-Alleghany Regional Commission (RVARC) is one of 21 regional planning agencies in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Member governments include the counties of Alleghany, Botetourt, Craig, Franklin and Roanoke; the cities of Covington, Roanoke, and Salem; and the towns of Clifton Forge, Rocky Mount and Vinton. The mission of the Regional Commission is to be a leader in driving collaboration and strategy within our communities on issues that are critical to the economic growth, quality of life, and the sustainability of this region.

Take the Survey...
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Keep In Touch...
Employees      Espanol      Sitemap      Privacy      Accessibility      Copyright Notices     
Town of Vinton  |  311 S. Pollard Street, Vinton, VA 24179  |  vintoninfo@vintonva.gov